LTS

Maganda

Pamela was absent last meeting because apparently, her dad asked her to care for her sick older sister (Grade 4). So before we started on to the lessons, I asked her again if she remembers my name, which is Niquitta, and she said my name was ‘Teacher Ate Shikita’ (huhu), which was really funny.

I didn’t teach the stuff from last meeting because I forgot my materials from then in the dorm. And so, we started on today’s lesson with the wordless picture book ‘Masayang Maglaro sa Ulan’. I held the book in my hand and asked her what she thinks is happening in the story and allowed her to flip the pages after. She knows how to use the book and based on her story-telling, she understood the story well.

We moved on to reading the book ‘Kapag Sabado’. I asked her to read the title of the story and she still can’t read it altogether, although she correctly recognized the syllables ‘ka’ and ‘sa’. When she opened the book, she immediately recognized Santino. I read the words while we read the story. She correctly answered the questions I asked afterwards although I had to help her remember the fruits mentioned. When I enumerated all the words that started with the letter S in the story and asked her what she noticed about the words, she said that they’re ‘maganda’ (haha). I corrected her and she was able to write the big and small letters correctly.

Next was supposedly the use of the cube. I didn’t use a cube, instead, I had the pictures laid out on a paper since I know she can’t perfectly read yet, I asked her to tell me what those pictures were. She gets it right when she knows the picture but guesses when she doesn’t. She also isn’t reading the words below the pictures indicating what those pictures were. So I covered the pictures first and asked her to read them for me. She reads the first two letters and then guesses the rest of the words and so I had to let her tell me the sound of each letter and read them altogether. She doesn’t know some of the letters yet. We took a long time on this part.

The last activity that we did was the use of the tachitoscope. I asked her to show me the word ‘mama’ and she didn’t get it right. So I asked her to write down the word first on paper and show it to me and she got it right. We also did the word ‘sama’ and she got them with some difficulty. When I asked her to write down the word ‘ama’, she wrote it down as ‘PaPa’. She writes down and recognizes words based on memory and not because she knows them and so I corrected her. The real challenge was asking her to write the word ‘am’. It’s two letters long but she writes it down as ‘ama’ and she does so repeatedly because she is under the impression that each letter is read with the letter a attached to them. For example, she reads the letters s and m as ‘sa’ and ‘ma’, respectively. That’s why she was having a hard time with the tachistoscope. We ended our meeting here.

When she was having a hard time writing down the correct words, she was not anymore willing in participating in the activity and looks away and so I had to call her attention back. But when she gets it right, she regains her willingness. We ended our meeting with her being able to write down the word ‘am’ correctly and she looked so happy when she was able to. We weren’t able to reach the last part, Phase Reading, and so we weren’t able to finish Lesson 4.

Today’s objective was to see if we would be able to finish two lessons per meeting. From the previous meetings, we were able to finish one lesson per meeting and we weren’t able to finish today’s most probably because we started off late. While we were still in the tachistocope part, the others were already finished and were playing around. I think the pace of one lesson per meeting is just right for my student but is not for others. I taught another student, Ian, last meeting because Pamela was absent, and our lesson went kind of boring because he already knows how to read and is not challenged by the lesson. While Pamela is still having a hard time reading words, Ian is already able to read stories. While I think the lesson is just right for Pamela, I think that other tutors need to adjust theirs and increase the difficulty.

Overall, although we weren’t able to finish two lessons, today went well and Pamela is reading better.

Standard

One thought on “Maganda

  1. Ana Maria Margarita Salvador says:

    Has Pamela been attending the sessions? I really hope so. Based on your assessment of her capability, if two lessons are too much for her, stick to one but make sure you give a lot of opportunities for practice, especially for things she really needs to work at (eg. correcting how she sounds out individual phonemes). Keep at it and keep me posted about Pamela’s progress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

